File — GameTimePA.comBermudian Springs’ Neil Murren heads to the hoop as York Suburban’s Aaron Briggs pursues during a game in February.
File — Bermudian Springs' Neil Murren heads to the hoop as York Suburban's Aaron Briggs pursues during a game in February. Murren was voted Player of the Year after helping the Eagles win their first division title.

Bermudian Springs had never won a boys' basketball championship of any kind before this season. By season's end, the Eagles had a YAIAA Division III championship.

Bermudian dominated league play in Divisions III and IV and finished the schedule 14-0. The performance lead to senior guard Neil Murren being voted the Player of the Year and Tom Flaherty Coach of the Year by YAIAA coaches.

Murren averaged a team-best 14.8 points per game for an Eagles team that lacked height but made up for it with an unforgiving defense and cunning offense. They made few mistakes and were the only YAIAA team to shoot better than 70 percent from the free-throw line.

Before the YAIAA tournament, Bermudian suffered just one loss — and made up for it by handing Boiling Springs a decisive loss in their rematch at Giant Center during districts.

Eagles guard Austin Hartzell also received All-YAIAA honors on the second team. The first team included Hanover senior guard Nick Trish, Delone Catholic junior Devon Moore, Susquehannock senior Dan Ferraro and Hanover junior Dylan Krieger.

Trish and Krieger helped the Nighthawks win Division IV and advance to the District 3 Class AA final with an inside-outside presence. Trish's 17.5 points per game was among the league's best. Moore (19.0 points) and Ferraro (18.7 points) were some of the few who scored more.


YAIAA Divisions III and IV

First team

Player of the Year: Neil Murren, Bermudian Springs

Nick Trish, Hanover

Devon Moore, Delone Catholic

Dan Ferraro, Susquehannock

Dylan Krieger, Hanover

Second team

CJ Boxley, York Suburban

Matt McKim, York Catholic

Broguen Nicholas, Eastern York

Zack Sheets, Biglerville

Austin Hartzell, Bermudian Springs

Coach of the Year

Tom Flaherty, Bermudian Springs

Honorable mention

Bermudian Springs: Alex Orwig, Alex Huntington; Delone Catholic: Andrew Austin; Eastern York: Grum Kebede; Hanover: Jacob Rhodes, Kyle Krout; Littlestown: Brady Topper; York Catholic: Paul Martello, Erich Hartman; York County Tech: Donte Grim, Michael Lynch; York Suburban: PJ McClane, Manny McDowell, Malique Wise.

Mid-Penn selections

Tyler Lampe

Trey Thomas