Central York’s Sam Saxton drives toward the basket during the YAIAA boys’ basketball championship game against William Penn. Saxton and the
Central York's Sam Saxton drives toward the basket during the YAIAA boys' basketball championship game against William Penn. Saxton and the Panthers won the title, Central's first since 1974, and the junior went on to be voted Player of the Year by league coaches. (File — GameTimePA.com)

The last time Central York celebrated a boys' basketball championship in York County, it was 1974. Neither its current players nor head coach had even been born.

It had been that long.

A season to remember for the Panthers was capped with a YAIAA tournament title in February 2014. It followed an unbeaten regular season in league play, and those coaches who faced Central voted junior guard Sam Saxton their Player of the Year. Kevin Schieler was selected as Coach of the Year.

Saxton and Schieler weren't the only members of their team to receive all-league honors. Junior post Charlie Gingrich and senior guard Royce Clemens received second-team honors.

The rest of the YAIAA first team included Red Lion senior Mike Fox, a 1,000-point career scorer, William Penn junior double-double machine Jahaire Wilson, Dover junior Ryan Beck and West York senior Kevin Rice.

Beck led the YAIAA in scoring, while Rice helped the Bulldogs to a 24-5 season. Beck's 24.3 scoring average was five points better than the league's second-leading scorer. He also drained an incredible 85 shots from behind the 3-point arc.

Fox received the second-highest vote total, including some Player-of-the-Year votes, from league coaches. Wilson averaged 14.8 points, 11.8 rebounds and 2.2 blocks in helping the Bearcats claim the District 3 Class AAAA title after entering the tournament as the No. 8 seed.


Divisions I and II

First team

Player of the Year: Sam Saxton, Central York

Mike Fox, Red Lion

Jahaire Wilson, William Penn

Ryan Beck, Dover

Kevin Rice, West York

Second team

Trey Shifflett, William Penn

Mike Gibbs, Dallastown

Eli Brooks, Spring Grove

Charlie Gingrich, Central York

Royce Clemens, Central York

Coach of the Year

Kevin Schieler, Central York

Honorable mention

Dallastown: Ben Doorn; Dover: Najah Fink; Kennard-Dale: Ryan Trott; New Oxford: Alex Decinti; Northeastern: Derrick Hoffman, Donovian Maxfield, Kobi Nwandu; Red Lion: Evan Miller, Stone McCreary; South Western: Brock Geiman, Scott Hess; Spring Grove: Darin Gordon; West York: Josh Bailey, Parker Weekly; William Penn: Stephen Dickson, Kristopher Johnson.

Mid-Penn selections

Tyler Lampe

Trey Thomas

Boys' basketball all-stars: Division I-II | Divisions III-IV | Spotlight: Central York's Sam Saxton | Photo gallery