Three YAIAA boys' basketball seniors received all-state accolades Wednesday, when the teams were announced after a vote a panel of Pennsylvania sports writers.

All three -- William Penn's Tavon Parker, Northeastern's Khalid Nwandu and Delone Catholic's Brett Smith -- led their teams to division titles in the regular season, but making lists of the top players in the state came because of so much more.

Nwandu, who's headed to Mount St. Mary's on a basketball scholarship, made the Class AAA second-team. He averaged 20.2 points per game as a senior and nearly helped the Bobcats (18-10) pull off an upset of top-seeded Susquehanna Township in the second round of the District 3 tournament.

A versatile 6-foot-2 guard, Nwandu shined on the Giant Center floor in that game with a high of 17 points, including a buzzer-beating 3.

Parker and Smith also saved some of their best for the District 3 championships at Giant Center. Both helped teams to the finals of their respective classifications.

Parker's Bearcats (27-4) lost to top-seeded Harrisburg for the District 3 Class AAAA championship, but he averaged 28 points in those tournament games. A 20.4-point scorer for the season, the 6-3 Parker made the Class AAAA third team. He will attend Millersville University in the fall and play basketball.

Smith, meanwhile, helped the Squires (18-10) repeat as district champs in Class AA. That, along with 13.9 scoring average, helped Smith receive Class AA second-team honors.


Chester standout Rondae Jefferson, who's headed to Arizona on a basketball scholarship, was voted the Class AAAA player of the year. Other top players in the state this season were: Imhotep Charter's Brandon Austin (Class AAA player of the year), Holy Cross' Josh Kosin (Class AA) and Vaux's Rysheed Jordan (Class A).

Like Jefferson, Austin and Jordan are listed as top 100 recruits by numerous media outlets. Austin is headed to Providence, while Jordan is still weighing his options. The 6-3 Vaux point guard will announce his decision April 15 with Temple, St. John's and UCLA among the top suitors.
@mgoul; 771-2045

By The Associated Press
   The 2012-13 Pennsylvania Sports Writers All-State Boys Basketball teams, including each player's school, height, class and scoring average.
   Shawn Anderson, New Castle, 6-3, sr., 20.2 ppg
   Rondae Jefferson, Chester, 6-7, sr., 15.5 ppg
   B.J. Johnson, Lower Merion, 6-7, sr., 16.5 ppg
   Jahad Thomas, Williamsport, 6-2, sr., 18.0 ppg
   Geno Thorpe, Shaler, 6-3, sr., 26.3 ppg
   Stephen Vasturia, St. Joseph's Prep, 6-5, sr., 20.5 ppg
   Yohanny Dalembert, Lower Merion, 6-7, sr., 10.8 ppg
   Shep Garner, Roman Catholic, 6-2, jr., 15.7 ppg
   Miles Overton, St. Joseph's Prep, 6-4, sr., 15.7 ppg
   Cole Renninger, Central Mountain, sr., 27.2 ppg
   Darius Robinson, Chester, 6-1, sr., 11.8 ppg
   Isaiah Washington, Williamsport, 6-4, jr., 15.9 ppg
   Sheldon Zablotny, Cathedral Prep, 6-0, sr., 19.1 ppg
   Sal Biasi, Hazleton, 5-11, jr., 26.8 ppg
   Richard Granberry, Chester, 6-7, sr., 12.3 ppg
   Ryan Luther, Hampton, 6-7, jr., 21.1 ppg
   Tavon Parker, William Penn, 6-3, sr., 20.4 ppg
   Devonne Pinkard, J.P. McCaskey, 6-6, sr., 18.1 ppg
   Jahaad Proctor, Harrisburg, 6-2, so, 13.5 ppg
   Amar Stukes, La Salle College, 6-1, sr., 19.6 ppg
Player of the year: Rondae Jefferson, Chester
Coach of the year: Gregg Downer, Lower Merion
   Muhammad Ali Abdur-Rahkman, Allentown Central Catholic, 6-4, jr., 21.2 ppg
   Brandon Austin, Imhotep Charter, 6-7, sr.,, 17.0 ppg
   John Davis, Neumann-Goretti, 6-5, sr., 13.4 ppg
   Ja'Quan Newton, Neumann-Goretti, 6-3, jr., 18.4 ppg
   J.C. Show, Abington Heights, 6-2, jr., 19.0 ppg
   Devin Wilson, Montour, 6-4, sr., 16.9 ppg
   Jason Dietrich, Donegal, 6-3, sr., 15.3 ppg
   Martin Dietrich, Donegal, 6-3, sr., 15.4 ppg
   Nana Foulland, Berks Catholic, 6-9, jr., 14.0 ppg
   Derrick Jones, Archbishop Carroll, 6-6, so, 14.1 ppg
   Jaymon Mason, General McLane, 6-3, sr., 26.8 ppg
   Khalid Nwandu, Northeastern, 6-2, sr., 20.6 ppg
   Yosef Yacob, Archbishop Carroll, 6-0, sr., 13.0 ppg
   Spencer Casson, Chartiers Valley, 6-6, sr., 11.4 ppg
   Matt Husek, Bethlehem Catholic, 6-11, sr., 16.0 ppg
   Matt Knowles, Scranton Prep, 6-1, sr., 14.6 ppg
   Phillip Madison, Greater Johnstown, 5-9, sr., 20.3 ppg
   Basil Thompson, Imhotep Charter, 6-6, jr., 9.7 ppg
   Ernie Tyler, Shikellamy, 6-3, sr., 13.2 ppg
Player of the year: Brandon Austin, Imhotep Charter
Coach of the year: Ryan Butt, Donegal
   Drew Cook, Beaver Falls, 6-2, sr., 15.9 ppg
   Elijah Cottrill, Beaver Falls, 6-3, jr., 16.4 ppg
   Matthew Dogan, West Middlesex, 6-6, sr., 25.7 ppg
   Josh Kosin, Holy Cross, 6-7, sr., 19.6 ppg
   A.J. Leahey, Penn Cambria, 6-7, sr., 20.8 ppg
   Roger Wilson, Loyalsock, 6-5, sr., 15.0 ppg
   Dominick Antonelli, Trinity, 6-2, jr., 13.2 ppg
   Noah Davis, Bellwood-Antis, 6-6, sr., 22.1 ppg
   David Johnson, Communications Tech, 5-11, sr., 17.8 ppg
   Julian Moore, Germantown Academy, 6-9, sr., 14.5 ppg
   Rasheed Moore, Meyers, 6-6, sr., 16.5 ppg
   Brett Smith, Delone Catholic, 5-10, sr., 13.9 ppg
   Nemo Trexler, Bishop McCort, 6-4, jr., 18.8 ppg
   Travis Conrad, Lewisburg, 5-10, sr., 15.0 ppg
   Kyle Datres, Loyalsock, 5-10, soph., 9.9 ppg
   Jahyde Gardiner, Freire Charter, 6-5, jr., 18.2 ppg
   Jordan Jackson, Wellsboro, 5-11, sr., 14.0 ppg
   Nick Lorenz, East Juniata, 6-1, jr., 21.0 ppg
   Ronnie Tomasetti, Mid Valley, 6-4, sr., 13.3 ppg
   Josh Wise, Washington, 6-2, sr., 21.9 ppg
Player of the year: Josh Kosin, Holy Cross
Coach of the yea: Doug Biega, Beaver Falls
   Sammy Foreman, Vaux, 6-0, so, 12.2 ppg
   Ryan Fyock, Shade, 6-1, sr., 25.2 ppg
   Rysheed Jordan, Vaux, 6-4, sr., 24.8 ppg
   Elijah Minnie, Lincoln Park, 6-9, jr., 20.1 ppg
   Cole Peterson, Johnsonburg, 5-10, jr., 15.6 ppg
   Jeremiah Worthem, Math, Civics & Sciences, 6-7, sr., 15.7 ppg
   Aondofa Anyam, Church Farm, 5-10, jr., 12.2 ppg
   Dalton Cesarz, Blacklick Valley, 6-1, sr., 25.7 ppg
   Alize Johnson, St. John Neumann, 6-5, jr., 18.0 ppg
   Britton Lee, Math, Civics & Sciences, 5-11, sr., 10.0 ppg
   Maverick Rowan, Lincoln Park, 6-5, fr, 23.5 ppg
   Danny Savulchak, North Catholic, 6-4, sr., 20.5 ppg
   Wade Walker, Shade, 6-5, sr., 18.0 ppg
   Cameron Grumley, Johnsonburg, 5-9, jr., 15.5 ppg
   Brandon Martinazzi, Bishop Carroll, 5-9, soph., 17.8 ppg
   Timmy Orr, Lebanon Catholic, 6-2, sr., 17.4 ppg
   Zach Smith, Smethport, 6-4, sr., 22.3 ppg
   Dache Talbert, Sankofa Freedom, 5-8 sr., 15.5 ppg
   Shafeek Taylor, Math, Civics & Sciences, 6-4, sr., 8.3 ppg
   Ryan Wolf, Vincentian, 5-9, so, 21.3 ppg
Player of the year: Rysheed Jordan, Vaux
Coach of the year: Bill Shuey