Ursinus’ Jayme Verman scored four goals in the Bears’ 10-8 victory over Rowan on Wednesday. (Photo courtesy Ursinus athletics)
Ursinus' Jayme Verman scored four goals in the Bears' 10-8 victory over Rowan on Wednesday. (Photo courtesy Ursinus athletics) (Stylish Images Inc)

The third annual Pioneer Athletic Conference Senior Bowl will take place Sunday, June 1 at Spring-Ford's Coach McNelly Stadium, with kickoff set for 6 p.m.

The contest, featuring some of the top senior talent in the PAC-10, pits the Freedom squad (coached by Pottsgrove's Rick Pennypacker) against the Liberty squad (coached by Methacton's Paul Lepre).

Rosters for the game will be released in April.

Romano selected: Spring-Ford senior defensive end Mason Romano has been selected to participate in the 13th annual Pennsylvania Scholastic Football Coaches Association (PSFCA) East/West all-star game, which will take place Sunday, May 4, at 2 p.m. at a site to be determined.

The 6-foot, 210-pound Romano, an All-Area first team selection, notched 69 tackles, including 17 for loss and an area-best eight sacks for the Rams.

Dan Algeo of Cardinal O'Hara will coach the East team, with Pat Monroe of South Allegheny coaching the West squad.



Catholic 8, Ursinus 7 (10): Sophomore first baseman Chris Jablonski was 2-for-4 with two doubles and two RBI, while senior second baseman Ralph Aurora was 2-for-4 with a run scored and a double for the Bears (1-4) in the loss to the Cardinals (7-3) at Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Freshman right fielder Austin Kurey was 2-for-4 for Ursinus. Senior pitcher Chris Ryder took the loss, as he pitched the final two innings, allowing four hits and two earned runs.




Montclair State 18, Ursinus 11: Brett Morgan scored four goals and nationally-ranked Montclair State closed the game on a 6-0 run to take the non-conference contest.

Ursinus (2-2) got three goals and an assist from sophomore attack Logan Panaccione and two goals and two assists from junior attack Mike Neal. Junior midfielder Jake Weber also tossed in two assists on the afternoon.



Ursinus 10, Rowan 8: Freshman midfielder Jayme Verman scored four goals and sophomore midfielder Devin Brakel scored three goals to lead the Bears to the non-conference win.

Sophomore midfielder Mary Deliberti had two goals, with Verman getting two assists for Ursinus (3-1).



Ursinus splits: The team split a pair of matches, defeating Principia College 7-2 in the afternoon before dropping a tough 5-4 decision to St. Scholastica under the lights in Orlando, Fla.

In the first match against Principia, the Bears (4-1) got off to a solid start, taking a 2-1 lead after doubles. The duo of Dylan Marsh and Tyler Arsenault registered the first win of the day with a 8-0 whitewash in the third flight. At second doubles, Evan Lord and Logan Metcalf-Kelly continued their recent strong play with an 8-5 win to give Ursinus a 2-1 lead.

In singles, the Bears took five out of six matches to garner the win. Evan Stutchin and Tyler Arsenault were solid in straight set wins in the first and second flights, while Dalton Lynch and Dylan Marsh got wins at the fourth and fifth flights. Junior Mike Melchiorre chipped in with a 6-2, 6-4 win at sixth singles.



Division III Championships: Four members of the Ursinus College wrestling team departed on Wednesday heading to the NCAA Division III Championships, in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, hosted by Cornell College. The two-day event will be held at the US Cellular Arena starting on Friday morning and ending Saturday night with the championship bouts.

Junior 157-pounder Richard Jasinski (Sellersville, Pa.), sophomore 165-pounder Anthony Carlo, junior 197-pounder Christian Psomas and freshman 285-pounder Matan Peleg will all compete for Ursinus, who won the 2014 Centennial Conference title and came within one point of winning the NCAA East Regional.

Jasinski, with a record of 34-5, will wrestle the winner of Carl Elmer of St. Olaf and seventh-seed Mark Savenok of Wheaton (Ill.).

Carlo, who enters with a record of 32-4, will wrestle the winner of Farai Sewera of Coe and sixth-seeded Josh Sampson of Wabash.

Psomas (18-1) will wrestle fifth-seeded Punahele Soriano of Wartburg, while Peleg (16-10) will wrestle the winner of Mackenzie Green of Trine and third-seed Cody Kasprick of Concordia-Morehead.